Climate Change Bill — Five yearly account — 25 Feb 2008 at 19:12

The majority of Lords voted against changing the period for budgeting the carbon account from five years to one year.

The five year window is outlined in Clause 4,[1] and the annual targets would have been set for six years ahead for every calender year till 2044.[2]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con3 71 (+1 tell)36.4%
Crossbench10 910.2%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab123 (+2 tell) 056.3%
LDem0 39 (+1 tell)50.0%
UKIP0 150.0%
Total:137 12037.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Inglewood Con (front bench)no
Lord Lawson of BlabyCon (front bench)no
Lord Marlesford Conno
Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchaye
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchaye
Lord Hameed Crossbenchaye
Baroness Howe of IdlicoteCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchaye
Baroness Masham of IltonCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Ramsbotham Crossbenchaye
Baroness Stern Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Walpole Crossbench (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive