Criminal Justice and Immigration Bill — 26 Feb 2008 at 21:14

Clause 20 <[i>Consecutive terms of imprisonment]:

moved Amendment No. 91:

Clause 20, leave out Clause 20 and insert the following new Clause-
"Consecutive terms of imprisonment: maximum duration etc.
(1) Section 181 (prison sentences of less than 12 months) of the Criminal Justice Act 2003 (c. 44) is amended as follows.
(2) For subsection (7) substitute-
"(6A) Where a court imposes two or more terms of imprisonment in accordance with this section to be served consecutively, the court shall have complete discretion to set the aggregate length of the terms of imprisonment subject to a maximum of 65 weeks and may suspend all or part of the total period of imprisonment.""

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 91) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 31; Not-Contents, 32.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

Con22 (+2 tell) 011.8%
Crossbench6 13.8%
DUP1 033.3%
Lab0 27 (+2 tell)13.3%
LDem0 11.3%
Total:29 299.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Patel Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Patel of BradfordCrossbenchno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive