Corporation tax (small companies' rates and fractions for financial year 2008) — 18 Mar 2008 at 21:41

The majority Aye voters passed a motion[1] which set the small companies' corporation tax rate for the 2008/09 financial year. This rate was set at 21% and increased by 1% from the previous year.

Corporation tax is, very simply, a tax on the profits of a company resident in the UK. There is a main rate of corporation tax which applies to companies with profits of over £1.5 million per year (this was set at 28% in 2008/09 - down from 30% in the previous year). Companies qualify for the lower rate when their profits are at or below £300,000 per year.[2]

Companies with profits between £300,000 and £1.5 million qualify for Marginal Small Companies Relief (MSCR). The relief that companies qualify for is decided by a MSCR fraction which is also set by parliament (and was voted on in this division).

Both the Conservatives and Liberal Democrats voted against this small companies' corporation tax rate. The Tories probably voted this way because they believe corporation tax should be lower[3].


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 167 (+2 tell)088.0%
DUP0 6066.7%
Independent0 1020.0%
Independent Conservative0 10100.0%
Lab301 (+2 tell) 0086.1%
LDem0 59093.7%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 60100.0%
Total:301 245086.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive