Iraq Inquiry — Not the right time — 25 Mar 2008 at 21:45

The majority of MPs voted against holding an inquiry into the Iraq war at this time but to agree a time will come when an inquiry is appropriate.

The majority voted for the motion before Parliament, which read:

This House --

  • notes the Resolutions of this House of 31st October 2006[1] and 11th June 2007[2] on an Iraq inquiry;
  • recognises that this House has already twice voted against holding an inquiry at these times;
  • further recognises that a time will come when an inquiry is appropriate; but
  • declines to make a proposal for a further inquiry at this time, whilst important operations are underway in Iraq to support the people and government of Iraq.

This replaced a motion in favour of an inquiry that was voted down previously.[4]

The question supported by the majority of MPs was:

That the original words stand part of the Question

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 175 (+2 tell)092.2%
DUP0 7077.8%
Independent0 3060.0%
Independent Conservative1 00100.0%
Lab298 (+2 tell) 7087.2%
LDem0 58092.1%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:299 259088.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Linda RiordanHalifaxLab (minister)no
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Harry CohenLeyton and WansteadLab (minister)no
Kelvin HopkinsLuton NorthLab (minister)no
Robert Marshall-AndrewsMedwayLabno
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive