Heathrow — Condemnation of third runway — rejected — 2 Apr 2008 at 18:50

The majority of MPs voted against the motion before Parliament which read:[1]

  • This House
  • recognises the urgent need to curb carbon dioxide emissions to tackle climate change;
  • condemns the Government for following policies that will instead lead to significant growth in emissions from the aviation sector;
  • particularly condemns plans to allow a third runway at Heathrow;
  • believes that the consultation paper Adding Capacity at Heathrow Airport[2] was deeply flawed and is concerned at the undue influence BAA played in the drafting of the paper;
  • notes that the paper significantly overstated the economic case for a third runway while greatly underplaying the serious environmental consequences, including, as well as the extra emissions from flights, the increase in intensity and distribution of noise for those living under the flight path through runway alternation and the threat of forced relocation for the inhabitants of Sipson village; and
  • calls on the Government to withdraw permanently plans for a third runway at Heathrow, to keep the present cap of 480,000 flights per year as opposed to the 700,000 envisaged in the consultation document, to rule out any further increase in airport capacity in the South East, and to indicate to the aviation sector that it will have to live within its existing infrastructure capacity.

An alternative motion was passed in the next vote.[3]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con2 101.6%
DUP1 0011.1%
Independent2 2080.0%
Independent Conservative0 10100.0%
Lab260 (+2 tell) 2075.0%
LDem0 54 (+2 tell)088.9%
PC0 2066.7%
SNP0 4066.7%
Total:265 66053.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsConaye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabaye
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive