Heathrow — Expansion is consistent with sustainable aviation strategy — 2 Apr 2008 at 18:50

The majority of MPs voted for the motion before Parliament which read:[1]

  • This House recognises
  • that the Government's policy on airport expansion is consistent with its long term, balanced and sustainable aviation strategy as set out in the 2003 White Paper The Future of Air Transport,[1]
  • that its support for emissions trading represents the most effective way of tackling climate change concerns,
  • that the Adding Capacity at Heathrow Airport consultation[2] is a robust document that is the product of a lengthy period of comprehensive analysis,
  • that the consultation process followed best practice as set out by the Cabinet Office, that the economic case for the expansion of Heathrow Airport, as set out in the consultation, accurately reflects the Government's current understanding of all the relevant costs and benefits, and
  • that Ministers should base their forthcoming decisions on the future of Heathrow on all the evidence available, including the responses to the consultation.[3]

This had replaced a previous motion that had been voted out.[4]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con2 129068.2%
DUP1 0011.1%
Independent0 3060.0%
Independent Conservative0 10100.0%
Lab254 (+2 tell) 2073.3%
LDem0 52 (+2 tell)085.7%
PC0 2066.7%
SNP0 4066.7%
Total:257 193071.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConaye
David WilshireSpelthorneCon (front bench)aye
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive