[S3M-1715.1 (Amendment)] Decision Time — 17 Apr 2008 at 17:00

This looks like the vote on S3M-1715.1

The description in the bulletin on 2008-04-17 is:

*S3M-1715.1 Patrick Harvie: Local Income Tax—As an amendment to motion (S3M-1715) in the name of Andy Kerr, leave out from "rejects" to end and insert "notes the Scottish Government’s consultation on the future of local taxation; recognises that this consultation is not due to close until 18 July 2008; notes the wider range of possible options, including local income tax, land value tax, property tax and reform of the council tax; recognises that the existing system of local government taxation is discredited, bureaucratic and unpopular; agrees on the urgent need for substantial changes to the system of local taxation, and agrees that, in developing this future system, due consideration should be given to fairness, local accountability, the need to reduce tax avoidance and the wider social, economic and environmental impact of any proposed system of local tax reform on communities across Scotland."

You can search for this motion (S3M-1715.1) on TheyWorkForYou

Text Introducing Division:

There are seven questions to be put as a result of today's business. The first question is, that amendment S3M-1715.1, in the name of Patrick Harvie, which seeks to amend motion S3M-1715, in the name of Andy Kerr, on local income tax, be agreed to. Are we agreed?


There will be a division.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)AbstentionsTurnout
Con0 160100.0%
Green2 00100.0%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab0 45097.8%
LDem15 0093.8%
SNP47 00100.0%
Total:65 61098.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive