Human Fertilisation and Embryology Bill — Timetable — 12 May 2008 at 21:41

Tim Farron MP, Westmorland and Lonsdale voted in the minority (No).

The majority of MPs voted to establish a timetable[1] for the debate of the Human Fertilisation and Embryology Bill.[2] This happens immediately after a Bill has passed its Second Reading.[3]

The timetable requires the issues of human-animal hybrids and the termination of pregnancy to be debated in the main chamber of the House of Commons over two days, while the rest is discussed in a standing committee, which will have finished its work by 17 June.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con1 79 (+2 tell)042.7%
DUP0 90100.0%
Independent1 2060.0%
Lab259 (+2 tell) 7076.4%
LDem3 44074.6%
PC1 1066.7%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:265 149066.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Peter BottomleyWorthing WestCon (front bench)aye
Tom ClarkeCoatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLab (minister)no
Claire Curtis-ThomasCrosbyLab (minister)no
Paul FarrellyNewcastle-under-LymeLab (minister)no
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLab (minister)no
Geraldine SmithMorecambe and LunesdaleLab (minister)no
David TaylorNorth West LeicestershireLab (minister)no
Mike WoodBatley and SpenLabno
Nick HarveyNorth DevonLDem (front bench)aye
David HowarthCambridgeLDem (front bench)aye
Matthew TaylorTruro and St AustellLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive