Climate Change Bill — Second Reading — 9 Jun 2008 at 21:45

The majority of MPs voted to give the Climate Change Bill[1] its Second Reading following a five hour debate opened by the Minister of State.[2]

This means it will now be discussed in a committee of the House according to a timetable that was set by the next vote.[3]

This Bill has already been through the process in the House of Lords where it was voted on 11 times.[4]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con49 3 (+2 tell)028.1%
Independent1 0020.0%
Lab258 (+2 tell) 0074.1%
LDem32 0050.8%
PC2 0066.7%
SNP2 0033.3%
UKIP1 00100.0%
Total:345 3056.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)tellno
Philip DaviesShipleyContellno
Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConno
Andrew TyrieChichesterCon (front bench)no
Ann WiddecombeMaidstone and The WealdConno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive