Lisbon Treaty — Ratification by all states before coming into force — rejected — 18 Jun 2008 at 18:59

The majority of the Lords voted against inserting a new clause into the European Union (Amendment) Bill[1] which said:[2]

  • Consequences of non-ratification by other Member States
  • For the avoidance of doubt, until the Treaty of Lisbon has been ratified by all Member States of the European Union, Her Majesty's Government shall continue to act in accordance with the provisions of the existing Treaties and within the institutional arrangements established by those Treaties.

The government had argued that this amendment was unnecessary because the condition outlined in the amendment already existed elsewhere.[3] However, it was probably submitted "for avoidance of doubt" to make it more difficult to fudge the issue in any way.

This vote was the last that was cast on the Bill. It finally passed the House of Lords at the end of this debate.

The European Union (Amendment) Bill implements the Lisbon Treaty into UK law. The main aims of the Lisbon Treaty were to[4]:


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.0%
Con1 99 (+2 tell)50.0%
Crossbench28 718.4%
DUP0 133.3%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab136 (+2 tell) 062.7%
LDem60 076.9%
UKIP0 150.0%
UUP0 1100.0%
Total:226 11047.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Garel-Jones Conno
Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchaye
Lord Bew Crossbenchaye
Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchaye
Lord Greenway Crossbenchaye
Lord Hylton Crossbenchaye
Lord Monson Crossbenchaye
Lord Powell of BayswaterCrossbench (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive