Orders of the Day — New Clause 19 — Taxpayers' charter — 1 Jul 2008 at 20:15

'(1) The provisions of Part 7 of this Act shall not come into force until the condition set out in subsection (2) has been satisfied.

(2) The condition referred to in subsection (1) is that the Treasury has, by regulations made by statutory instrument, provided for the introduction, by no later than the passing of the Finance Act 2009, of a Taxpayers' Charter.

(3) Regulations under subsection (2) must-

(a) specify the statutory rights of the taxpayer, including providing for a right to appeal against an action or decision of HMRC, and

(b) specify the statutory duties of the taxpayer, including-

(i) notice periods to which the taxpayer must adhere,

(ii) documents to which the taxpayer must allow access, and

(iii) penalties which may be levied on the taxpayer for failure to comply.

(4) Regulations under subsection (2) may not be made unless a draft of the instrument containing them has been laid before and approved by the House of Commons.'.- [Mr. Jeremy Browne.]

Brought up, and read the First time.

Question put, That the clause be read a Second time:-

The House divided: Ayes 214, Noes 299.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 150078.1%
DUP0 4044.4%
Independent1 0020.0%
Lab297 (+2 tell) 0085.4%
LDem0 52 (+2 tell)085.7%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP0 4066.7%
UKIP0 10100.0%
Total:299 214081.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive