Pensions Bill — 27 Oct 2008 at 16:55

moved Amendment No. 69A:

After Clause 98, insert the following new Clause-
"Suspension of annuitisation order
(1) The Secretary of State may by order suspend any statutory provision or rule of law requiring a pension to be taken in the form of an annuity.
(2) The Secretary of State may by order renew an order made under subsection (1).
(3) The period for which a suspension order, made under subsection (1) or (2), has effect must be stated in the order and may not be less than 6 months or more than 2 years.
(4) Any order made under subsection (1) or (2) does not have effect until a draft has been laid before, and approved by a resolution of each House of Parliament."

On Question, Whether the said amendment (No. 69A) shall be agreed to?

Their Lordships divided: Contents, 129; Not-Contents, 156.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con0 96 (+2 tell)48.8%
Crossbench2 2715.3%
DUP0 133.3%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab112 (+2 tell) 052.8%
LDem39 153.3%
UUP0 1100.0%
Total:153 12741.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Adebowale Crossbenchno
Baroness Meacher Crossbenchno
Lord Patel of BradfordCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Falkner of MargravineLDem (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive