Climate Change Bill — Report on the civil estate — 28 Oct 2008 at 20:45

The majority of MPs voted for a new clause to be added to the Climate Change Bill, which said:[1]

  • It is the duty of the Office of Government Commerce to produce an annual report setting out the progress made towards improving the efficiency and sustainability of its civil estate in terms of reducing its size, improving the sustainability of the buildings that already form part of the civil estate, and ensuring that any new buildings procured for the civil estate are in the upper quartile of energy performance.
  • Where any new building procured for the civil estate is not in the upper quartile of energy performance, the report must state the reasons why this is the case.

This was a Government backed proposal[2] with widespread support, voted against only by a small number of Conservative Party MPs, some of whom don't believe that Climate Change is real.[3]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con130 5 (+1 tell)070.5%
DUP5 0 (+1 tell)066.7%
Independent4 0080.0%
Independent Labour1 00100.0%
Lab275 (+2 tell) 0079.4%
LDem52 0082.5%
PC2 0066.7%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP5 0071.4%
UKIP1 00100.0%
Total:476 5076.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)tellno
Philip DaviesShipleyConno
John GreenwayRyedaleConno
Peter LilleyHitchin and HarpendenConno
Andrew TyrieChichesterCon (front bench)no
Ann WiddecombeMaidstone and The WealdConno
Sammy WilsonEast AntrimDUP (front bench)tellno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive