Cannabis — reclassification from class C back to class B — 25 Nov 2008 at 19:24

The majority of the House of Lords voted in favour of the reclassification of cannabis from a class C to a class B drug, as written in The Misuse of Drugs Act 1971 (Amendment) Order 2008.

They did this by voting against the motion:[1]

  • This House calls on Her Majesty's Government to follow the recommendation of the Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs that cannabis should remain a class C drug and to delay implementing the order pending a further review by the advisory council

Unlike in the House of Commons (which was lucky to hold a vote),[2] the House of Lords held an extensive debate.

This order reversed the 2003 reclassification of the drug from class B to class C, where there was also a debate and a vote.[3]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop2 07.7%
Con20 612.8%
Crossbench10 13 (+2 tell)13.0%
DUP3 0100.0%
Lab76 (+2 tell) 739.0%
LDem0 3647.4%
Total:111 6224.7%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Inglewood Con (front bench)aye
Lord Lawson of BlabyCon (front bench)aye
The Earl of LiverpoolConaye
Lord Lyell Conaye
Lord Mancroft Conaye
The Earl of OnslowCon (front bench)aye
Lord Armstrong of IlminsterCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Bew Crossbenchno
Viscount Colville of CulrossCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchno
Lord Hastings of ScarisbrickCrossbench (front bench)no
Baroness Masham of IltonCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Patel of BradfordCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Robertson of Port EllenCrossbenchno
Lord Rowe-Beddoe Crossbenchno
Lord Slynn of HadleyCrossbenchno
Lord Walpole Crossbench (front bench)no
Lord Williamson of HortonCrossbenchno
Lord Alli Labaye
Lord Gilbert Labaye
Lord Haworth Labaye
Lord King of West BromwichLabaye
Lord Lipsey Labaye
Lord Maxton Lab (minister)aye
Lord Rea Labaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive