Motion to reject the European Working Time Directive — rejected — 10 Mar 2009 at 21:44

The majority No voters rejected a motion[1] on the European Working Time Directive (EWTD). The motion argued against the introduction of this rule on the UK because it threatened the effectiveness of Britain's public services and would lead to a loss in productivity. The EWTD imposes a 48-hour week on all workers except if they choose to opt-out of it.

An amendment[2] was then proposed that agreed that it was right that "No worker should be required to work longer than 48 hours per week averaged over 26 weeks unless he or she freely chooses to do so..." and stressed that the Government's manifesto committed the Government to maintaining the individual opt-out from the European Working Time Directive.

The Aye-voters failed in their attempt to carry the motion and the amendment was thus carried instead. In effect, the Aye-voters were voting against the imposition of the European Working Time Directive.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 165 (+2 tell)086.5%
DUP0 3033.3%
Independent2 2066.7%
Lab286 (+2 tell) 0082.3%
LDem0 43068.3%
PC2 0066.7%
SNP6 0085.7%
Total:296 213081.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive