Business Rate Supplements Bill — Report — 8 Jun 2009 at 21:06

Clause 3 : Use of money raised by a BRS

Amendment 4 not moved.

Amendment 5 not moved.

Clause 4 : Conditions for imposing a BRS

Amendments 6 to 9

Moved by Baroness Hamwee

6: Clause 4, page 3, line 25, leave out "where there is to be"

7: Clause 4, page 3, line 25, after first "ballot" insert "has been held of the relevant persons"

8: Clause 4, page 3, line 25, leave out "the ballot has been held"

9: Clause 4, page 3, line 26, after "approved" insert "by a majority as set out in section 8"

Amendments 6 to 9 agreed.

Clause 5 : Prospectus

Amendment 10 not moved.

Amendment 11

Moved by Baroness Hamwee

11: Clause 5, page 3, line 37, after "prospectus" insert "and a summary of it together with an easily understood explanation"

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con0 36 (+2 tell)19.4%
Crossbench3 22.7%
DUP1 033.3%
Lab61 (+2 tell) 029.3%
LDem1 01.4%
UUP0 1100.0%
Total:66 3916.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Viscount Craigavon Crossbenchaye
Lord Williamson of HortonCrossbenchaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive