Political Parties and Elections Bill — Report (2nd Day) — 17 Jun 2009 at 18:51

Amendment 66 not moved.

Amendment 67

Moved by Lord Tyler

67: After Clause 17, insert the following new Clause-

"National spending limit

In the Representation of the People Act 1983 (c. 2), after section 75A there is inserted-

"75B National spending limit

(1) A registered political party may spend in total, including expenditure by its national, regional, local or other organs, no more than £100 million on qualifying expenditure in the period of 61 months following a general election.

(2) If more than one general election occurs within 61 months following the previous general election, the Secretary of State may by order increase the sums referred to in subsection (1) by any appropriate amount.

(3) Before making an order under subsection (2), the Secretary of State shall consult the Electoral Commission.

(4) An order under subsection (2) must be laid before, and approved by a resolution of, both Houses of Parliament.""

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con37 420.9%
Crossbench13 49.2%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab74 (+2 tell) 738.6%
LDem0 38 (+2 tell)54.1%
Other1 09.1%
UKIP1 050.0%
Total:126 5426.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Dixon-Smith Conaye
Lord Hodgson of Astley AbbottsConaye
Lord Kalms Conaye
Lord Marland Conaye
Lord Waddington Conaye
Viscount Colville of CulrossCrossbenchaye
Lord Hylton Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Monson Crossbenchaye
Lord Walpole Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Barnett Labaye
Lord Corbett of Castle ValeLabaye
Lord Hollick Labaye
Baroness Morgan of HuytonLabaye
Lord Pendry Labaye
Lord Rooker Labaye
Lord Soley Lab (minister)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive