Parliamentary Commissions of Inquiry — Clause 11 — Rates of alcoholic liquor duty — 7 Jul 2009 at 21:30

The Aye voters failed to pass an amendment to the Finance Bill 2009 which would have decreased the rate of duty on beer from medium to large breweries by 2% in each financial year beginning in 2010-11. The vote was to include a new line, 3A, within clause 11 of the Bill (scroll to page 4 on the previous link).

This particular vote is quite complicated since clause 11 of the Finance Bill amends the Alcoholic Liquor Duties Act 1979. So, this vote is to amend the Finance Bill which will in turn amend the Alcoholic Liquor Duties Act 1979.

The amendment reads as follows:

"(3A) After subsection (1A) insert—
(1AB) The rate under section 36 (1AA)(a) shall be reduced by 2 per cent. for the tax year 2010-11 and by a further 2 per cent. for each subsequent tax year."

So, the amendment basically affects section 36 (1AA)(a) (linked above) in the Alcoholic Liquor Duties Act 1979 which reads as follows:

"(1AA) The rates at which the duty shall be charged are—
(a) in the case of beer that is not small brewery beer, £11.89 per hectolitre per cent of alcohol in the beer"

Consequently, we can see that the amendment would have decreased the rate of duty on beer from medium to large breweries by 2% in each financial year beginning in 2010-11.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 100.5%
DUP7 0077.8%
Independent0 4066.7%
Lab300 (+2 tell) 1086.8%
LDem0 47 (+2 tell)077.8%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP3 00100.0%
SNP0 6085.7%
UUP1 00100.0%
Total:311 62059.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive