Terrorism Act 2006 (Disapplication of Section 25) Order 2009 — 9 Jul 2009 at 14:01

The majority of MPs voted to keep the maximum period of detention without charge of terrorist suspects at 28 days.

This was the effect of the approval of Terrorism Act 2006 (Disapplication of Section 25) Order 2009[1]. The motion voted on read:

  • That the draft Terrorism Act 2006 (Disapplication of Section 25) Order 2009, which was laid before this House on 18 May, be approved.

Had this order not been approved the maximum period for detention without trial of terrorist suspects would have reduced to 14 days through the effect of the provision in section 25(5) of the Terrorism Act 2006

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con0 000.0%
DUP1 0011.1%
Independent0 1016.7%
Lab238 (+2 tell) 5070.2%
LDem0 50 (+2 tell)082.5%
PC0 1033.3%
SNP0 2028.6%
Total:239 59048.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Lynne JonesBirmingham, Selly OakLab (minister)no
Andrew MacKinlayThurrockLab (minister)no
John Martin McDonnellHayes and HarlingtonLabno
Alan SimpsonNottingham SouthLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive