Constitutional Reform And Governance Bill — New Clause 22 — Written tests for Judicial Appointments — 4 Nov 2009 at 16:00

The majority of MPs voted against an amendment intended to remove written tests from the process of appointing judges in the UK. New clause 22 proposed amending section 88 of the Consitutional Reform Act 2005 to add the words: "At no stage during any selection procedure may the [Judicial Appointments] Commission apply any written tests.” [1] In the debate[2] Conservative Shadow Minister for Justice Henry Bellingham argued against the tests[3] as they have the side effect of making the fact someone has applied for a judicial position public. Government Minister Michael Wills said there were arguments for and against written tests and the independent Judicial Appointments Commission should determine the selection processes. [4]

The Committee of the whole house divided: Ayes 150, Noes 329.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con0 143 (+2 tell)075.1%
DUP0 6066.7%
Independent2 0033.3%
Lab273 (+2 tell) 0078.8%
LDem49 0077.8%
PC2 0066.7%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP3 0042.9%
UUP0 10100.0%
Total:330 150076.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive