Digital Economy Bill — Limit the powers of the manager appointed to save a failed internet domain registry — rejected — 3 Feb 2010 at 17:24

The majority of Lords voted against limiting the the powers of a manager appointed by the government to take control of an internet domain registry following a serious failure and a notice period.

A serious failure is when the registry engages in unfair practices or misuses internet domain names in a way that adversely affects the reputation or availability of electronic communications, or interests of consumers.[1]

The addition to this law, which was rejected, was to require the Secretary of State to outline the appropriate steps the manager must take to remedy the failure of the internet domain register he has been appointed to manage.

According to Lord Howard, without this extra provision, the manager will be able to "involve himself in matters which are not related to the task for which he was appointed to carry out."

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 03.8%
Con0 71 (+2 tell)38.4%
Crossbench29 518.5%
DUP1 033.3%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab102 (+2 tell) 048.6%
LDem4 05.4%
Other1 09.1%
UUP1 033.3%
Total:140 7631.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchaye
Baroness Greengross Crossbenchaye
Lord Luce Crossbenchaye
Lord Powell of BayswaterCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Skidelsky Crossbenchaye
Lord Laird UUPaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive