Local Government Bill [HL] — Motion to refer to the Examiners — 8 Jun 2010 at 15:37

The House of Lords agreed that the Local Government Bill ought be assessed by professional staff to determine if it ought be treated as a Government (public) bill or as a "hybrid" bill as it progresses through Parliament.

The text of the motion agreed to was: "That the [Local Government] Bill ought be referred to the examiners."

The Examiners, are the Clerks of Private Bills in both Houses.[1]

A definition of a hybrid bill was given in the debate preceding the division:

"A hybrid bill is defined as 'a public bill which affects a particular private interest in a manner different from the private interests of other persons or bodies of the same category or class'".

As specific councils were named in the bill and treated differently to others; an argument was made that this could result in the bill being considered a hybrid.

The decision of the examiners will affect the bill's future passage through Parliament

The Lords divided Contents 154; Not-Contents 150, with the Contents being in favour of referring the bill to the examiners for an expert opinion as to its status.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop4 016.0%
Con0 86 (+1 tell)46.0%
Crossbench40 1328.0%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab102 (+2 tell) 047.9%
LDem1 48 (+1 tell)66.7%
Total:148 14743.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Aberdare Crossbenchno
Viscount Allenby of MegiddoCrossbenchno
Lord Alton of LiverpoolCrossbenchno
Lord Bew Crossbenchno
Lord Bilimoria Crossbenchno
Baroness Deech Crossbenchno
Lord Hannay of ChiswickCrossbench (front bench)no
Lord Laming Crossbench (front bench)no
Viscount Montgomery of AlameinCrossbenchno
Lord Rowe-Beddoe Crossbench (front bench)no
The Earl of SandwichCrossbenchno
Viscount Slim Crossbenchno
Lord Williamson of HortonCrossbenchno
Viscount Falkland LDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive