Business of the House — Size of the Backbench Business Committee — 15 Jun 2010 at 21:03

The majority of MPs voted against making the Backbench Business Committee larger than the Government had proposed.

The amendment, which was rejected in this vote, proposed making it so the committee would comprise a chair and fifteen members of whom eight would comprise a quorum. The original motion stated:

  • "The committee shall consist of a chair and seven other Members, of whom four shall be a quorum."

The purpose of the Backbench Business Committee is "to determine the backbench business to be taken in the House and in Westminster Hall on days, or parts of days, allotted for backbench business."

During the debate SNP MP Pete Wishart explained why he was seeking to make the committee larger - he said it would make it more likely to contain representation from the minority parties.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con254 (+2 tell) 6085.6%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab30 84044.2%
LDem47 1084.2%
PC0 1 (+1 tell)066.7%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 5 (+1 tell)0100.0%
Total:331 100068.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Bob BlackmanHarrow EastConaye
Angie BrayEaling Central and ActonConaye
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)aye
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleConaye
John StanleyTonbridge and MallingCon (front bench)aye
Justin TomlinsonNorth SwindonConaye
Adrian BaileyWest Bromwich WestLab (minister)no
William BainGlasgow North EastLab (minister)no
Anne BeggAberdeen SouthLab (minister)no
Clive BettsSheffield South EastLab (minister)no
Paul BlomfieldSheffield CentralLabno
Jeremy CorbynIslington NorthLabno
Margaret CurranGlasgow EastLabno
Nicholas DakinScunthorpeLabno
Ian DavidsonGlasgow South WestLab (minister)no
Helen GoodmanBishop AucklandLab (minister)no
Tom GreatrexRutherglen and Hamilton WestLabno
David HamiltonMidlothianLab (minister)no
Eric IllsleyBarnsley CentralLabno
Liz KendallLeicester WestLabno
Mark LazarowiczEdinburgh North and LeithLab (minister)no
Fiona MactaggartSloughLabno
Michael MeacherOldham West and RoytonLabno
Meg MunnSheffield, HeeleyLabno
Ian MurrayEdinburgh SouthLabno
Jonathan ReynoldsStalybridge and HydeLabno
Geoffrey RobinsonCoventry North WestLabno
Lindsay RoyGlenrothesLab (minister)no
Andrew SmithOxford EastLabno
Peter SoulsbyLeicester SouthLabno
Gisela StuartBirmingham, EdgbastonLabno
Emily ThornberryIslington South and FinsburyLab (minister)no
Chuka UmunnaStreathamLabno
Joan WalleyStoke-on-Trent NorthLab (minister)no
Alan WhiteheadSouthampton, TestLab (minister)no
Malcolm WicksCroydon NorthLabno
Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive