Finance Bill — Third Reading — 20 Jul 2010 at 19:10

The majority of MPs voted to approve the third reading of the Finance Bill[1] ie. for it to be passed by the House of Commons.

The Bill contained provisions intended to enact the changes to the tax and benefits system which had been announced in the coalition's emergency budget[2][3].

The Bill included provisions to:

  • raise VAT from 17.5% to 20%
  • set the main rate of Corporation Tax at 27% for 2011/12, down from 28% in 2010[4].
  • increase the standard rate of insurance premium tax (IPT) from 5 per cent to 6 per cent and the higher rate of IPT from 17.5 per cent to 20 per cent, both with effect from 4 January 2011.
  • introduce the power for Treasury ministers to repeal the restriction of pension tax relief to the basic rate for high income individuals, known as the “high income excess relief charge”. The charge is a tax on pension contributions applied to individuals whose gross income is over £150,000 per year.
  • maintain the exemption from income tax for accommodation expenses paid or reimbursed to MPs


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con278 (+1 tell) 0091.2%
DUP0 7087.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 225 (+2 tell)088.0%
LDem44 (+1 tell) 0078.9%
PC0 30100.0%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 4066.7%
Total:322 242088.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive