Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Second Reading — 6 Sep 2010 at 21:43

Rehman Chishti MP, Gillingham and Rainham voted in favour of a referendum on using the Alternative Vote system in general elections and for parliamentary constituency boundary changes which would have reduced the number of MPs from 650 to 600.

The majority of MPs voted for the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1] to be read a second time ie. for it to continue on its path towards becoming law.

The Bill provides for the next UK General Election to be held under the Alternative Vote system, provided this change is endorsed in a referendum on 5 May 2011 and boundary changes have been made to reduce the size of the House of Commons to 600[2]. The result of the referendum was to keep the current First Past The Post system[3].

See also a subsequent vote in January 2013 which delayed the boundary review process

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Con274 (+1 tell) 10093.1%
DUP0 7087.5%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab0 244 (+2 tell)095.3%
LDem53 (+1 tell) 0094.7%
PC0 2066.7%
SNP0 60100.0%
Total:328 269094.1%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Brian BinleyNorthampton SouthCon (front bench)no
Peter BoneWellingboroughCon (front bench)no
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)no
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)no
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)no
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)no
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsCon (front bench)no
Peter TapsellLouth and HorncastleCon (front bench)no
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive