Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Schedule 1 — Further provisions about the referendum — 18 Oct 2010 at 17:30

The majority of MPs voted against including a specific provision in the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1] expressly permitting Chief Counting Officers to give Regional Counting Officers or counting officers responsible for running the referendum directions about the discharge of their functions specifically in relation to voters with disabilities.

Mark Harper MP (Parliamentary Secretary (Political and Constitutional Reform), Cabinet Office explained during the debate[2]:

  • Ensuring that ballot papers and polling stations are accessible to all is already a duty that counting officers and returning officers have.

Alun Michael proposed an amendment to the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill which was being voted on. The section being amended, Schedule One, 3(5)[3] originally read:

  • The Chief Counting Officer may give Regional Counting Officers or counting officers—
  • (a) directions about the discharge of their functions;
  • (b) directions requiring them to provide the Chief Counting Officer with information that they have or are entitled to have.

The amendment, proposed adding a further item to the above list:

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con276 (+1 tell) 0090.5%
DUP0 6075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 220 (+2 tell)086.0%
LDem53 (+1 tell) 0094.7%
PC0 1033.3%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:329 235088.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive