Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Schedule 2 — Use of Independent Schools as Polling Stations — 18 Oct 2010 at 21:30

Theresa May MP, Maidenhead voted against requiring independent schools to house polling stations if counting officers wish to use them.

The majority of MPs voted against requiring independent schools to house polling stations if counting officers wished to use them.

The Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill in its original form[1] contained a provision, on page 27[2] stating:

  • "The counting officer may use, free of charge, for the purpose of taking the poll—
  • (a) a room in a school within paragraph (3);


paragraph 3 stated:

  • (3) The schools within this paragraph are—
  • (a) in England and Wales—
  • (i) a school maintained or assisted by a local education authority;
  • (ii) a school in respect of which grants are made out of moneys provided by Parliament to the person or body of persons responsible for the management of the school;

The amendment proposed adding the following to the end:

  • '(iii) a school which enjoys charitable status.'.

Labour MP Chris Bryant explained his motivation for moving the amendment, in the debate prior to the vote he said[3]:

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con282 (+2 tell) 0092.8%
DUP0 80100.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 216 (+2 tell)084.5%
LDem55 0096.5%
SDLP0 1033.3%
Total:338 226089.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive