Parliamentary Voting System and constituencies Bill — Programme motion variation — 19 Oct 2010 at 17:21

The majority of MPs voted in favour of varying the rules governing the progress of the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill through the House of Commons: the vote was about the progress through Parliament of, rather than on the contents of the Bill.

The following motion was passed:

  • That the Order of 12 October (Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill (Programme) (No. 2) be varied as follows:

(1) In the Table, for the entry relating to the third and fourth days of Committee there shall be substituted:

  • Day: Third and fourth days
  • Proceedings; Clause 7, Schedule 6, Clauses 8 to 13; Schedule 7, Clauses 14 to 17
  • Time for conclusion of proceedings; 9.00 pm on the fourth day

(2) On the third day paragraph (1) of Standing Order No. 15 (Exempted business) shall apply to the proceedings until 11.00 pm.

The programme motion being amended was the subject of a previous vote.

This vote was on the third programme motion in relation to this bill.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con273 (+1 tell) 3090.5%
DUP0 80100.0%
Lab0 219 (+2 tell)085.7%
LDem52 (+1 tell) 0093.0%
PC0 1033.3%
SDLP1 0033.3%
SNP0 2033.3%
Total:327 233087.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)no
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)no
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive