Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Clause 7 — Defining the Alternative Vote System — 19 Oct 2010 at 19:00

The majority of MPs voted to accept rules for voting in an election run under the "Alternative Vote" system which allow votes to rank as many candidates as they like.

The Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1] contains a protocol describing: "How votes are to be given" in the "Alternative Vote" system[2].

In the Bill as introduced this protocol states:

  • "(1) A voter votes by marking the ballot paper with—
  • (a) the number 1 opposite the name of the candidate who is the voter’s first preference (or, as the case may be, the only candidate for whom the voter wishes to vote),
  • (b) if the voter wishes, the number 2 opposite the name of the candidate who is the voter’s second preference, and so on.
  • (2) The voter may mark as many preferences (up to the number of candidates) as the voter wishes.”

The vote was on if the above clause ought remain part of the bill.

A rejected amendment debated prior to the vote would have removed the text above from, and including, "and so on". Text was to be added clarifying:

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con269 (+2 tell) 3089.5%
DUP0 7087.5%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab0 214 (+2 tell)083.7%
LDem49 0086.0%
PC1 0033.3%
SDLP2 0066.7%
SNP4 0066.7%
Total:327 224086.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)no
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)no
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive