Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Clause 8 — Review Welsh Parliamentry Constituancies With Respect to Further Devoloution — 20 Oct 2010 at 15:45

The majority of MPs voted against requiring a Boundary Commission report within a year of agreeing a referendum on the devolution of more powers to the Welsh Assembly. The purpose would be to report on how additional devolution ought effect, if at all, the size and number of Parliamentary constituencies in Wales.

The Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill contains provisions stating when periodic reports by the Boundary Commission on Parliamentary Constituency boundaries must be produced.

The Bill, as introduced, stated:

  • A Boundary Commission shall submit reports under subsection (1) above periodically—
  • (a) before 1st October 2013, and
  • (b) before 1st October of every fifth year after that.”

Labour MP Chris Bryant moved an amendment proposing replacing "before 1st October 2013" with:

  • '(a) within twelve months of Part 2 of the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Act 2010 coming into force in accordance with section 16(2) thereof'.-

Clause 16(2) was to be added via a further amendment, it was to state:

  • "after the referendum on the determination of powers devolved to the National Assembly for Wales under the terms of the Government of Wales Act 2006".[3]

During the debate Mr Bryant noted:

  • following the Scotland Act 1998, it was agreed that because a variety of powers would be given to the Scottish Parliament, it was right and proper for the number of seats that Scotland accounted for in the Westminster Parliament to be reduced.

It appears Mr Bryant's amendment was seeking to prompt a review of the number of Welsh MPs following any further devolution of powers to Wales.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con271 (+1 tell) 0088.9%
DUP0 7087.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 221 (+2 tell)086.4%
LDem49 (+1 tell) 0087.7%
PC1 0033.3%
SDLP0 30100.0%
SNP4 0066.7%
Total:326 232087.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive