Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Clause 8 — Electoral Registration and Reports of the Boundary Commissions — 20 Oct 2010 at 15:45

The majority of MPs voted against making the Electoral Commission certifying sufficient measures have been taken to register voters a pre-requisite for the next review of Parliamentary constituency boundaries.

The Deputy Leader of the Commons Liberal Democrat MP David Heath stated he did not want to delay the process[1]. Labour MP Chris Bryant spoke against going ahead with the review with the current electoral register saying : "...many people are under-represented on the register. The danger is that they will therefore be under-represented in Parliament and their concerns will not be taken on board."[2]

The Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill contains provisions stating when periodic reports by Boundary Commissions on Parliamentary Constituency boundaries must be produced.

The Bill, as introduced, stated[3][4]:

  • (2)A Boundary Commission shall submit reports under subsection (1) above periodically—
  • (a) before 1st October 2013, and
  • (b) before 1st October of every fifth year after that.”

Graham Stringer MP proposed adding a further provision:

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con274 (+1 tell) 0089.9%
DUP0 6075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 221 (+2 tell)086.4%
LDem48 (+1 tell) 0086.0%
PC1 1066.7%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP4 0066.7%
Total:328 231087.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive