Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Clause 10 — Boundary Commission proposals: publicity and consultation — 20 Oct 2010 at 21:00

The majority of MPs voted to require publicity and consultation on changes to Parliamentary constituency boundaries recommended by a Boundary Commission.

The vote was technically on whether to accept Clause 10 of the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill.

Key elements of the clause include:

  • That consultations be run by the Boundary Commission on proposed constituency changes.
  • No public enquiries into changes are to be initiated by the Boundary Commission.
  • There is only a requirement to consult on the initial proposals, and on the first of any revisions; no consultations are required for second and subsequent revisions.

The Clause was not amended during the committee of the whole house, and no proposed amendments were voted on.

What was Clause 9[2] of the Bill as introduced became Clause 10[3] in the next version of the Bill published following the commons' (as a committee of the whole house) having considered the Bill.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con268 (+1 tell) 1088.2%
DUP0 5062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 119 (+2 tell)046.9%
LDem49 (+1 tell) 0087.7%
PC0 1033.3%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 4066.7%
Total:317 133070.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive