Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Clause 8 — Boundary Commission Veto on Modification of Their Recommendations — 20 Oct 2010 at 16:45

Oliver Letwin MP, West Dorset did not vote.

The majority of MPs voted not to give the Boundary Commissions a veto on any modifications Parliament might want to make to their recommendations before acting on them.

The Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1] contains a provision requiring the Secretary of State to lay before Parliament the draft of an Order in Council for giving effect, with or without modifications, to the recommendations contained in the reports from the Boundary Commissions[2].

The division was on an amendment which would have added an additional provision stating:

  • '(5AA) The draft of an Order in Council laid under subsection (5A) above may only give effect to the recommendations contained in all four reports under subsection (1) above with modifications, where those modifications have been made with the agreement of the Boundary Commissions.'

Had the amendment passed it would have reduced the power of democratically accountable MPs; and given more power to the Boundary Commissions.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con259 (+2 tell) 0085.3%
DUP0 6075.0%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 216 (+2 tell)084.5%
LDem49 0086.0%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 1033.3%
SNP0 4066.7%
Total:308 231084.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive