Fixed Term Parliaments Bill — Clause 2 — Speaker's Certificate re Early General Election to be Issued Within 24 Hours — 1 Dec 2010 at 15:30

The majority of MPs voted against requiring a certificate from the Speaker relating to an early general election be issued within 24 hours of the conditions requiring the holding of such an early election being met.

MPs were considering the Fixed Term Parliaments Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was[2]:

  • Amendment 23, in clause 2, page 2, line 17, at end insert
  • '(4A) The Speaker shall issue a certificate under subsection (1) or (2) within 24 hours of the relevant conditions being met under subsection (1) or (2).'.

This amendment would have introduced a new subclause into clause two of the Bill as it stood[3]. The certificate in question is one relating to the calling of an early general election in light of one of the criteria in the clause requiring an election being met. Those criteria being the passing of a motion in favour of an early parliamentary general election, either without objection, or with a two-thirds majority, or a vote of no-confidence in the Government having been passed, and no subsequent vote of confidence being obtained within 14 days.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con250 (+1 tell) 4083.3%
DUP0 5062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 210 (+2 tell)082.5%
LDem51 (+1 tell) 0091.2%
PC0 30100.0%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:302 229083.6%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)aye
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsCon (front bench)aye
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive