Fixed Term Parliaments Bill — Early General Elections — 1 Dec 2010 at 15:30

The majority of MPs voted in favour of exceptions from the five year fixed term of a parliament, enabling early general elections to be called in certain circumstances as well as to preserve the monarch's powers in relation determining when MPs meet in Parliament.

MPs were considering the Fixed Term Parliament's Bill[1][2]. The motion approved by the majority of MPs was:

  • That clauses 2 to 4 stand part of the Bill.

Clause 1 provided for general elections to be held every five years; (allowing the Prime Minister to vary the date by two months earlier or later).

Clause 2 provided for early general elections in the case of a motion calling one being passed either unopposed, or by two-thirds of MPs, or where a motion of no-confidence in the government is passed, and within 14 days a motion of confidence in a government has not been passed.

Clause 3 makes the key necessary changes to elections law and the law concerning the meeting of Parliament in light of fixed days for elections.

Clause 4 preserves the monarch's power to discontinue a session of Parliament and to proclaim the first meeting date of a new Parliament following a general election.

Without Clause 2, there would be general elections every 5 years, with no exceptions. The main impact of the removal of these clauses from the Bill would have been to remove the exceptions.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con247 (+2 tell) 2082.0%
DUP5 0062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent1 00100.0%
Lab0 207 (+2 tell)081.3%
LDem52 0091.2%
PC0 30100.0%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:306 218082.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)no
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive