Daylight Saving Bill — Conclude Second Reading debate — 3 Dec 2010 at 13:07

The majority of MPs voted to bring the Second Reading debate over the Daylight Savings Bill to a close. This is a Private Members' Bill sponsored by Rebecca Harris[1]

The Bill required consideration of advancing time by one hour for all, or part of, the year.

This vote came before the actual vote to pass the Second Reading (from where it would be reviewed by a public bill committee.

There is evidence of a filibuster over this Bill owing to problems of delay in the No lobby, and the fact that a division was made necessary by someone shouting "Object",[3] and thus requiring at least 100 MPs being present on a Friday to vote in favour of ending the debate.[4]

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con74 (+1 tell) 5026.1%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab38 (+1 tell) 0015.2%
LDem9 2 (+1 tell)021.1%
SNP0 1 (+1 tell)033.3%
Total:123 8021.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)no
Matthew OffordHendonConno
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetCon (front bench)no
Andrew RosindellRomfordCon (front bench)no
Iain StewartMilton Keynes SouthCon (front bench)no
Malcolm BruceGordonLDem (front bench)no
Edward DaveyKingston and SurbitonLDem (front bench)no
Alan ReidArgyll and ButeLDem (front bench)tellno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive