Daylight Saving Bill — Second Reading — 3 Dec 2010 at 13:07

The majority of MPs voted to consider advancing time by one hour for all, or part of, the year.

The majority of MPs voted to pass the Daylight Savings Bill through its Second Reading, which means it now goes on to a public bill committee.

This is a Private Members' Bill sponsored by Rebecca Harris.[1]

This vote immediately followed the motion to close the debate.

There is evidence of a filibuster over this Bill owing to problems of delays in the No lobby.[2]

The lengthy debate gets lively when the Scots start speaking out at around here.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con64 (+2 tell) 6023.5%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab19 107.8%
LDem7 2 (+1 tell)017.5%
SNP0 1 (+1 tell)033.3%
Total:92 10016.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Alan ReidArgyll and ButeLDemtellno
Dennis SkinnerBolsoverLabno
Malcolm BruceGordonLDemno
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexConno
Matthew OffordHendonConno
Edward DaveyKingston and SurbitonLDemno
Iain StewartMilton Keynes SouthConno
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetConno
Andrew RosindellRomfordConno
Therese CoffeySuffolk CoastalConno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive