National Insurance Contributions Bill — Clause 4 — Regional Exclusions from National Insurance Exemption for New Businesses — 13 Jan 2011 at 15:45

George Osborne MP, Tatton did not vote.

The majority of MPs voted not to exclude Greater London, the South East Region and the Eastern Region from an exemption for new companies from class 1 National Insurance payments for a a period from June 2010 to September 2013.

MPs were considering the National Insurance Contributions Bill[1] The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 1, page 2, line 9, leave out paragraph (b).

Had it not been rejected this amendment would have affected Clause 4[2] of the Bill and would have removed the following subclause from the clause titled Holiday for new businesses which set out

  • (b) the principal place at which the new business is carried on when it is started is not in any of the excluded regions, and

Subclause (5) stated:

  • “The excluded regions” are Greater London, the South East Region and the Eastern Region.

The National Insurance holiday exempted new businesses from paying Class 1 National Insurance contributions payments for the period 22 June 2010 to 5 September 2013.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con231 (+2 tell) 0076.1%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 90 (+2 tell)035.8%
LDem39 0068.4%
PC1 1066.7%
Total:271 92058.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

There are lots of plans afoot, including extensive redevelopment of the site and plans for new functionality. To keep up with what's happening, please check out the blog. We're working on updating all the contact details throughout the site, but if you'd like to talk to us about the project, please email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Advertisement - Helping keeping PublicWhip alive