Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Special Case for Isle of Wight Constituency — 19 Jan 2011 at 19:47

The majority of members of the House of Lords voted to require Parliamentary constituencies covering the Isle of Wight to be wholly in the Isle of Wight and to exempt them from a rule requiring equal numbers of electors per constituency.

The House of Lords was considering the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1]. The amendment accepted in this vote was:

  • Amendment 66 : Clause 11, page 9, line 23, after "6(2)" insert ", 6A(2)"

This would have added a new rule, 6A(2), to relating to the permitted number of electors per constituency. 6A(2) was to be introduced in a later amendment[2]. Amendment 89 states:

  • Page 10, line 30, at end insert—
  • “Isle of Wight
  • 6A (1) All parts of the Isle of Wight must be included in a constituency which is wholly in the Isle of Wight.
  • (2) Rule 2 does not apply to any such constituency.”

Rule two is the rule saying the number of electors in a constituency must be within 5% of the mean number of electors per constituency[3].


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Content)Minority (Not-Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.0%
Con28 72 (+1 tell)46.8%
Crossbench25 113.8%
Independent Labour1 0100.0%
Lab122 (+2 tell) 051.7%
LDem14 44 (+1 tell)64.8%
UUP1 150.0%
Total:192 11841.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

The Earl of ArranConaye
Viscount Astor Conaye
Lord Bowness Con (front bench)aye
Baroness Browning Conaye
Lord Crickhowell Con (front bench)aye
Lord Denham Conaye
Lord Eden of WintonConaye
Lord Flight Conaye
Baroness Fookes Con (front bench)aye
Lord Forsyth of DrumleanCon (front bench)aye
Lord Fowler Con (front bench)aye
Baroness Gardner of ParkesCon (front bench)aye
Lord Glenarthur Con (front bench)aye
Lord Higgins Conaye
Lord Hodgson of Astley AbbottsConaye
Lord Howe of AberavonCon (front bench)aye
Lord Lamont of LerwickConaye
Lord Marlesford Conaye
Lord Mayhew of TwysdenCon (front bench)aye
Lord Newton of BraintreeConaye
Lord Norton of LouthCon (front bench)aye
Baroness O'Cathain Con (front bench)aye
Lord Selsdon Con (front bench)aye
Baroness Sharples Conaye
The Earl of ShrewsburyCon (front bench)aye
Lord Swinfen Con (front bench)aye
Lord Trefgarne Conaye
Lord Tugendhat Con (front bench)aye
Lord Ballyedmond Crossbenchno
Lord Stevens of KirkwhelpingtonCrossbenchno
Lord Carlile of BerriewLDem (front bench)aye
Lord Chidgey LDemaye
Lord Cotter LDemaye
Viscount Falkland LDemaye
The Earl of GlasgowLDemaye
Lord Greaves LDemaye
Lord Oakeshott of Seagrove BayLDemaye
Lord Razzall LDem (front bench)aye
Lord Sharkey LDemaye
Lord Steel of AikwoodLDemaye
Lord Strasburger LDemaye
Baroness Tonge LDem (front bench)aye
Lord Tordoff LDemaye
Lord Vallance of TummelLDemaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive