European Union Bill — Clause 6 — Referendum on Emergency Financial Assistance for EU Member States — 25 Jan 2011 at 20:30

The majority of MPs voted against requiring a referendum prior to UK giving emergency financial assistance via the EU to member states other than the Republic of Ireland.

The rejected amendment, proposed by William Cash MP (Stone, Conservative) stated[1]:

page 5, line 35, at end insert-

'(l) a decision to extend the use of the European Financial Stability Mechanism to member states other than the Republic of Ireland.'.

This would have affected clause 6(4) of the bill[2][3] which lists the decisions which must not be adopted by the UK without both an Act of Parliament and approval by a majority of those voting in a referendum

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con261 (+1 tell) 13 (+2 tell)090.5%
DUP0 7087.5%
Green1 00100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab1 734.3%
LDem48 (+1 tell) 0086.0%
PC3 00100.0%
SDLP2 0066.7%
SNP4 0066.7%
Total:321 28355.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by constituency

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsConaye
David NuttallBury NorthContellaye
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConaye
Ian MearnsGatesheadLabboth
James ClappisonHertsmereConaye
Andrew TurnerIsle of WightContellaye
Philip HolloboneKetteringConaye
Steve RotheramLiverpool, WaltonLabboth
John WhittingdaleMaldonConaye
Julian LewisNew Forest EastConaye
Andrew BridgenNorth West LeicestershireConaye
Mark HendrickPrestonLabboth
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkConaye
Mark RecklessRochester and StroodConaye
Philip DaviesShipleyConaye
Anne MainSt AlbansConaye
Bill CashStoneConaye
Peter BoneWellingboroughConaye
Hugh BayleyYork CentralLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive