Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Establish Committee on Parliamentary Constituency Reforms — 8 Feb 2011 at 17:52

The majority of members of the House of Lords voted against establishing a committee to make recommendations on parliamentary constituency reforms.

The House of Lords was considering the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1]. The motion rejected in this vote was Amendment 16HA which would have introduced a new clause titled: "Committee of Inquiry on Parliamentary constituencies"[2].

This would have created a committee of members of the House of Commons, House of Lords, and others, chaired by a High Court judge to consider the rules for conducting Parliamentary boundary reviews, how to address the problem of unequal constituency sizes, and to consider the number of MPs.

The proposal also required the Secretary of State to bring the recommendations of the committee before Parliament.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Con164 (+1 tell) 074.0%
Crossbench45 1028.9%
DUP0 250.0%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab0 176 (+2 tell)72.1%
LDem74 (+1 tell) 077.3%
PC0 1100.0%
UUP1 025.0%
Total:284 19062.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by name

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchaye
Baroness Finlay of LlandaffCrossbenchaye
Lord Freyberg Crossbenchaye
Lord Haskins Crossbenchaye
Lord Joffe Crossbenchaye
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchaye
Lord Martin of SpringburnCrossbenchaye
Lord Ouseley Crossbenchaye
Lord Patel of BradfordCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Rees of LudlowCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Robertson of Port EllenCrossbenchaye
The Earl of SandwichCrossbench (front bench)aye
The Earl of StairCrossbenchaye
Lord Wedderburn of CharltonCrossbenchaye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive