Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Reduce Number of Ministers If Number of MPs Reduced — 9 Feb 2011 at 19:39

The majority of members of the House of Lords voted against requiring the number of ministers to be reduced in line with any reduction in the number of MPs.

The House of Lords was considering the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 27F :After Clause 11, insert the following new Clause-
  • "Variation in limit of number of holders of ministerial offices
  • (1) The House of Commons Disqualification Act 1975 is amended as follows.
  • (2) For section 2(1) substitute-
  • "(1) The number of holders of offices specified in Schedule 2 to this Act (in this section referred to as Ministerial offices) entitled to sit and vote in the House of Commons at any one time, whether paid or unpaid, must not exceed 95 if the number of constituencies in the United Kingdom is 650."
  • (3) After section 2(1) insert-
  • "(1A) If the number of constituencies in the United Kingdom decreases below 650, the limit on the number of holders of Ministerial offices entitled to sit and vote in the House of Commons referred to in section 2(1) must be decreased by at least a proportionate amount."
  • (4) In subsection (2), after "subsection (1)", insert "or subsection (1A)"."

Had the amendment been agreed the above text would have been added after clause 11[2].


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop0 14.2%
Con133 (+1 tell) 261.0%
Crossbench16 1315.3%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab0 136 (+2 tell)55.9%
LDem70 (+1 tell) 073.2%
UUP0 125.0%
Total:219 15448.0%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

Lord Ashcroft Conaye
Lord Forsyth of DrumleanCon (front bench)aye
The Earl of ClancartyCrossbenchaye
Lord Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchaye
Baroness Grey-Thompson Crossbenchaye
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchaye
Lord Low of DalstonCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Martin of SpringburnCrossbenchaye
Baroness Masham of IltonCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Mawson Crossbenchaye
Lord Palmer Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Patel Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Patel of BradfordCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Rees of LudlowCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Robertson of Port EllenCrossbenchaye
Lord Rowe-Beddoe Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Williamson of HortonCrossbenchaye
Lord Maginnis of DrumglassUUPno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive