Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Reduce Number of Members of the House of Lords Before Reducing Number of MPs — 9 Feb 2011 at 20:50

The majority of members of the House of Lords voted not to reduce the number of MPs until the number of members of the House of Lords has been capped.

The House of Lords was considering the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 30A : Clause 18, page 15, line 34, at end insert-
  • "( ) Section 11 shall not come into force until legislation has been introduced into either House of Parliament limiting the number of members of the House of Lords."

Clause 11 of the Bill[2]; which would have become Section 11 of the resultant act, at the time of the vote sought to reduce the number of MPs from 650 to 600 and set out rules for reforms to constituency boundaries.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Not-Content)Minority (Content)Turnout
Bishop1 04.2%
Con112 (+1 tell) 7 (+1 tell)54.5%
Crossbench15 711.7%
Independent Labour0 1100.0%
Lab0 114 (+1 tell)47.3%
LDem64 (+1 tell) 067.7%
UUP0 125.0%
Total:192 13041.9%

Rebel Voters - sorted by vote

Lords for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible lord who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Party | Vote

The Earl of ClancartyCrossbenchaye
Lord Denham Conaye
Lord Elystan-Morgan Crossbenchaye
Lord Forsyth of DrumleanCon (front bench)aye
Lord Glenarthur Con (front bench)aye
Baroness Grey-Thompson Crossbenchaye
Lord Howe of AberavonConaye
Lord Kilclooney Crossbenchaye
Lord Low of DalstonCrossbench (front bench)aye
Viscount Montgomery of AlameinCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Naseby Con (front bench)aye
Lord Northbrook Conaye
Baroness O'Cathain Con (front bench)tellaye
Lord Patel Crossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Patel of BradfordCrossbench (front bench)aye
Lord Robertson of Port EllenCrossbenchaye
Lord Tebbit Conaye
Lord Maginnis of DrumglassUUPno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive