Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Clause 11 — Number and distribution of seats — Isle of Wight — 15 Feb 2011 at 19:46

The majority of MPs voted against requiring all parts of the Isle of Wight be included in a constituency which is wholly in the Isle of Wight.

A majority of MPs voted against Lords amendment 20 to the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill, which would have prevented any constituency from covering both part of the Isle of Wight and part of the UK mainland. In voting for this amendment, MPs were implying that they consider that constituencies being of equal size is of more importance than their fitting geographical features (such as, in this case, the fact that part of the constituency is on an island).

The text of the rejected new clause which Lords amendment 20 would have introduced read:

  • 6A
  • (1) All parts of the Isle of Wight must be included in a constituency which is wholly in the Isle of Wight.
  • (2) Rule 2 does not apply to any such constituency.”

The exemption from rule 2 ensures now other criteria overrule the statement in (1).

This vote was followed by a further vote in which the majority of MPs agreed to create two Parliamentary constituencies wholly on the Isle of Wight.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con262 (+1 tell) 0085.9%
DUP0 5062.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Independent0 10100.0%
Lab0 223 (+2 tell)087.5%
LDem49 (+1 tell) 3093.0%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 2066.7%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:311 243086.8%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Andrew GeorgeSt IvesLDem (front bench)no
Alan ReidArgyll and ButeLDem (front bench)no
Dan RogersonNorth CornwallLDem (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive