Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill — Clause 1 — Referendum on the Alternative Vote System — Threshold on Making Result Binding — 16 Feb 2011 at 20:14

The majority of MPs voted to reject imposing a threshold for acting on the result of the referendum on using the AV system for electing MPs but to amend the proposals for such a threshold to ensure if one was imposed and not reached the AV provisions would be repealed.

MPs were considering the Parliamentary Voting System and Constituencies Bill[1]. The Bill provided for the subsequent General Election to be held under the Alternative Vote system, provided this was endorsed in a referendum.

The motion approved by the majority of MPs in this vote was:

  • That this that this House insists on its disagreement with the Lords in their amendments 1 and 8, but proposes amendment (a) in lieu.

Lords amendment 1 stated[2]:

  • Page 1, line 5, at end insert—
  • “(1A) If less than 40% of the electorate vote in the referendum, the result shall not be binding.”

amendment 8 defined "electorate", "turnout" and "vote" for the purpose of calculating if the threshold has been reached.

Amendment (a) in lieu[3] stated:

  • Page 6, line 2, at end insert
  • ‘(A1) If the turnout in the referendum does not reach the threshold set out in section 1(1A) above, the Minister must make an order repealing the alternative vote provisions.
  • (1) Subject to subsection (A1) above,’.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (Aye)Minority (No)BothTurnout
Alliance1 00100.0%
Con246 (+2 tell) 18086.9%
DUP0 4050.0%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab0 209 (+2 tell)082.1%
LDem53 0093.0%
PC3 00100.0%
SNP6 00100.0%
Total:310 231085.3%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Brian BinleyNorthampton SouthCon (front bench)no
Graham BradyAltrincham and Sale WestCon (front bench)no
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)no
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)no
James ClappisonHertsmereCon (front bench)no
Geoffrey CoxTorridge and West DevonCon (front bench)no
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)no
David DavisHaltemprice and HowdenConno
Richard DraxSouth DorsetCon (front bench)no
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)no
Bernard JenkinHarwich and North EssexCon (front bench)no
Julian LewisNew Forest EastCon (front bench)no
Anne MainSt AlbansCon (front bench)no
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)no
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleCon (front bench)no
Richard ShepherdAldridge-BrownhillsCon (front bench)no
Peter TapsellLouth and HorncastleCon (front bench)no
Sarah WollastonTotnesCon (front bench)no

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive