Scotland Bill — Clause 1 — Administration of Elections — Start Counting Within Four Hours of Polls Closing — 7 Mar 2011 at 17:45

The majority of MPs voted against requiring Scottish Ministers to order returning officers to start counting votes for elections to the Scottish Parliament within four hours of polls closing.

MPs were considering the Scotland Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

This would have affected clause 1 of the Bill[2] which, by amending Section 12 of the Scotland Bill 1998, provided for the devolution of powers to administer elections of members of the Scottish Parliament to Scottish Ministers.

The additional requirement which was rejected as a result of this vote would have required Scottish Ministers to base their order for details of how the count is to be run and what the returning officer's statement of results is required to contain on the provisions of the Representation of the People Act 1983 as amended. Those provisions include the following requirements:

  • The returning officer shall take reasonable steps to begin counting the votes given on the ballot papers as soon as practicable within the period of four hours starting with the close of the poll.
  • Returning officers who do not start counting within the statutory time period must provide a report to the Electoral Commission explaining why they did not do so


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit free service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your electricity and/or gas to Bulb Energy who provide 100% renewable electricity and tend to be 20% cheaper than the 'Big Six'. They'll also pay any exit fees (up to £120) from your old supplier AND give you (and us) a £50 credit for joining up via our Bulb Referral Link.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Alliance0 10100.0%
Con254 (+2 tell) 1084.0%
DUP0 1012.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 194 (+2 tell)076.0%
LDem44 0077.2%
PC0 30100.0%
SNP0 5083.3%
Total:298 206079.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Eleanor LaingEpping ForestCon (front bench)aye

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

PublicWhip v2 codebase is currently under development - you can join the Slack group to find out more or email [email protected]

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive