Police Reform and Social Responsibility Bill — Clause 142 — Directions Releated to Prohibited Actvitity in Parliament Square — 31 Mar 2011 at 17:00

The majority of MPs voted to empower local government officials, as well as police officers, to direct that prohibited activity in Parliament Square must either cease, or not start. Prohibited activities include operating any amplified noise equipment in the controlled area of Parliament Square as well as restrictions on the use of tents and sleeping equipment.

MPs were considering the Police Reform and Social Responsibility Bill[1][2] when they voted to reject:

  • Amendment 185, in page 95, line 8, leave out ‘or authorised officer’.

Had it been accepted this amendment would have given powers only to police constables, and not local government officials, to give directions relating to amplified noise equipment, tents, and sleeping equipment, in the controlled area of Parliament square.

The amendment would have affected Clause 142 of the Bill[3], titled "Prohibited activities in controlled area of Parliament Square".

'authorised officer' was defined in Clause 147 of the Bill[4] as being officers of the Greater London Authority or Westminster City Council depending on the location within the controlled area.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con237 (+1 tell) 0077.8%
Lab0 156 (+2 tell)061.2%
LDem39 (+1 tell) 0070.2%
PC0 2066.7%
Total:276 158070.2%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive