Finance Bill — Clause 72 — Report on the Bank Levy — 3 May 2011 at 22:00

The majority of MPs voted not to require a review and report on the bank levy.

The Bank levy is a tax on banks based on their total applicable liabilities and equities.

MPs were considering the Finance Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 9, page 41, line 27, at end add—
  • ‘(2) The Chancellor shall review the bank levy and publish a report, before 31 December 2011, on—
  • (a) the Government’s analysis behind the rate and threshold chosen for the bank levy;
  • (b) the adequacy of the bank levy in the context of other reforms to the wider banking system; and
  • (c) the total tax revenues expected from banks across all categories of taxation in each year from 2011-12 to 2016-17

Had it not been rejected the above text would have been added to Clause 72[2] of the Bill which provided for a bank levy.


Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con255 (+2 tell) 0084.0%
DUP0 3037.5%
Lab0 144 (+2 tell)056.8%
LDem41 0071.9%
SNP0 60100.0%
Total:296 153071.5%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive