Localism Bill — Schedule 2 — Allowing Voters to Express a Second Preference When Electing Mayors — 17 May 2011 at 19:38

The majority of MPs voted to elect mayors via the supplementary vote system rather than the simple majority system.

MPs were considering the Localism Bill[1]. The text of amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 2, page 199, leave out lines 30 to 43 and insert
  • ‘The elected mayor is to be returned under the simple majority system.’

This would have taken effect on clause 9HL titled "Voting at elections of elected mayors" within a New Part 1A of the Local Government Act 2000[2] which Schedule 2 to the Localism Bill would have inserted.

The supplementary vote system gives electors the opportunity to indicate a second preference in elections where there are more than two candidates, and if no candidate gets over half of the first preference votes the rules set out in Schedule 2, Paragraph 3, of the Local Government Act 2000 take effect and the two candidates with most first preference votes (and any others with tied with them on the same number of votes) stay in the contest; and the second preferences of those who gave their first preferences to the other candidates are allocated to them.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con231 (+1 tell) 19 (+2 tell)082.7%
DUP1 6087.5%
Green1 00100.0%
Lab1 401.9%
LDem42 (+1 tell) 0075.4%
PC3 00100.0%
Total:279 29049.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

Guto BebbAberconwyCon (front bench)aye
Brian BinleyNorthampton SouthCon (front bench)aye
Steve BrineWinchesterConaye
Bill CashStoneCon (front bench)aye
Christopher ChopeChristchurchCon (front bench)aye
Philip DaviesShipleyCon (front bench)aye
Nadine DorriesMid BedfordshireCon (front bench)aye
Richard DraxSouth DorsetCon (front bench)aye
Zac GoldsmithRichmond ParkCon (front bench)aye
Chris Heaton-HarrisDaventryCon (front bench)aye
Philip HolloboneKetteringCon (front bench)aye
Julian LewisNew Forest EastCon (front bench)aye
Jason McCartneyColne ValleyConaye
David NuttallBury NorthCon (front bench)aye
Andrew PercyBrigg and GooleCon (front bench)tellaye
Jacob Rees-MoggNorth East SomersetCon (front bench)aye
Simon ReevellDewsburyCon (front bench)tellaye
John StevensonCarlisleConaye
Martin VickersCleethorpesConaye
Charles WalkerBroxbourneCon (front bench)aye
Craig WhittakerCalder ValleyCon (front bench)aye
Sammy WilsonEast AntrimDUP (front bench)no
Nick RaynsfordGreenwich and WoolwichLabno

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive