Localism Bill — Clause 168 — Designation of Mayoral Development Areas — 18 May 2011 at 15:00

The majority of MPs voted against only allowing the Mayor of London to designate a Mayoral development area if the majority of councils covering the area agree to the designation.

MPs were considering the Localism Bill[1]. The amendment rejected in this vote was:

  • Amendment 352, page 148, line 7, at end insert—
  • ‘(e) a majority of those London borough councils whose borough contains any part of the designated development area agree to the designation.’

Had the amendment not been rejected this condition would have been added to clause 168[2] of the Bill which provided for the Mayor of London to designate any area of land in Greater London as a Mayoral development area

A Mayoral development area is the area in which a Mayoral development corporation operates. The corporation becomes the local planning authority for the area and has various powers to enable it to carry out its role of regenerating the area.

Debate in Parliament | Source |

Public Whip is run as a free not-for-profit service. If you'd like to support us, please consider switching your (UK) electricity and/or gas to Octopus Energy or tip us via Ko-Fi.

Party Summary

Votes by party, red entries are votes against the majority for that party.

What is Tell? '+1 tell' means that in addition one member of that party was a teller for that division lobby.

What are Boths? An MP can vote both aye and no in the same division. The boths page explains this.

What is Turnout? This is measured against the total membership of the party at the time of the vote.

PartyMajority (No)Minority (Aye)BothTurnout
Con263 (+2 tell) 0086.6%
DUP0 7087.5%
Green0 10100.0%
Lab0 211 (+2 tell)082.9%
LDem47 0082.5%
PC0 2066.7%
SDLP0 1033.3%
Total:310 222084.4%

Rebel Voters - sorted by party

MPs for which their vote in this division differed from the majority vote of their party. You can see all votes in this division, or every eligible MP who could have voted in this division

Sort by: Name | Constituency | Party | Vote

no rebellions

About the Project

The Public Whip is a not-for-profit, open source website created in 2003 by Francis Irving and Julian Todd and now run by Bairwell Ltd.

The Whip on the Web

Help keep PublicWhip alive